Skip to content
MARKETS / ASAIY
RETAIL-GROCERY STORES · LARGE CAP

Sendas Distributor S.a. ASAIY

7 fiscal years on record · BRL · FY2024 reported · SEC filings only
BRL 73.8B
▲ 11.0% YoY
BRL 769.0M
▲ 8.3% YoY
BRL 3.3B
▲ 15.4% YoY
In brief

What this company does

Assaí sells more than 9,000 items of grocery, food, perishable, beverage, wrapping and hygiene products through its cash and carry operations. In March 2025 it operated a total of 302 stores under the Assaí banner in Brazil. It employs more than 86,000 people. It had approximately 312 million customers as of December 31, 2024. Its stores are located throughout 24 Brazilian states and the Federal District, and it operates mainly in the Southeast region of Brazil, in the states of São Paulo, Rio de Janeiro and Minas Gerais. It sells its products at brick-and-mortar stores and through a telesales channel with in-store pick-up. Its customers include prepared food retailers such as restaurants, pizzerias and snack bars, end users such as schools, small businesses, religious institutions, hospitals and hotels, conventional retailers such as grocery stores and neighborhood supermarkets, and individuals. Approximately 73% of its total product volume is supplied directly, while 27% is supplied by its 12 distribution centers located in nine Brazilian states.

Written from the business description in Sendas Distributor S.A.'s annual report to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, filed 1 April 2025. Every sentence was checked against that document before publication.

Growth
BRL 73.8B
Revenue, FY2024 · full 7-year series below
Revenue BRL B Net income BRL B
FY2024 · Revenue 73.8 · Net income 0.8
25.0B50.0B2018201920202021202220232024
Compound annual growth
+20.8%
+21.3%
−21.8%
−37.7%
+0.5%
3 yrs
5 yrs
10 yrs
15 yrs

Revenue compounded at +21.3% a year over five years.

Compound annual rates per period — left blank where that exact year isn't on file, the series crosses a loss, or (per-share rows) a split falls inside the window.

Profitability
1 cents
of every revenue dollar became profit
Operating margin Net margin
FY2024 · Operating 5.2% · Net 1.0%
2%4%6%2018201920202021202220232024
ROE
FY2021 · ROE 119.5%
50%100%2018201920202021202220232024

Cash & shareholders
returned in FY2024 · dividends + net buybacks
Free cash flow BRL B
FY2024 · FCF 3.3
2B2018201920202021202220232024
Net buybacks BRL M Dividends BRL M
FY2023 · Dividends 118.0 · Net buybacks —
200M400M201820192020202120222023

Total assetsBRL 45.6B
CashBRL 5.6B
Gross debtBRL 16.2B
Net debtBRL 10.5B
Current ratio1.01×

Not available: we don't have the shareholders' equity figure for this period.

The 7-year record
7 fiscal years
Every figure from documents filed with the SEC · BRL

EPS, diluted, dividend per share and shares outstanding are shown without shading, and a vertical line marks the year the share count changed — the series crosses a large, unexplained change in share count, so the years on either side are not on a comparable scale.

row low → row highnegative
Metric 2024202320222021202020192018
Revenue BRL B73.866.554.541.936.028.123.0
Operating income BRL B3.83.32.92.62.11.71.7
EBITDA BRL B5.44.73.83.22.62.12.0
Income tax BRL B0.2−0.20.10.20.40.40.5
Net income BRL B0.80.71.21.61.41.01.1
Free cash flow BRL B3.32.81.61.01.91.80.6
EPS, diluted BRL 0.570.520.901.191.040.81·
Dividend / sh BRL ·······
Payout %··149352911
ROE %···119.533.114.8·
Shares out B··0.000.00···

Slide the table for earlier years · "·" marks a figure not available in our data for that year.

Provenance
Company facts, as filed
How we verify · 0 failures in 31 reconciliationsAUDITED

Reconciled in 7 of 19 fiscal years. 64 checks could not be computed.

EPS recomputationBalance-sheet identityGross profitBalance-sheet liquiditymoeda_consistente0 failures
ActivityRetail-Grocery Stores
Listed onnot stated in the filings
Incorporated inoutside the United States — SEC code D5
Fiscal year endsnot stated in the filings
Data on record since2018

Share this section

Download image