Skip to content
NYSE · CIGARETTES · LARGE CAP

British American Tobacco p.l.c. BTI

11 fiscal years on record · GBP · FY2025 reported · SEC filings only
7 YEARS OF DIVIDEND GROWTH
£25.6B
▼ 1.0% YoY
£7.8B
▲ 153.1% YoY
£5.8B
▼ 39.9% YoY

Slide the table for earlier years · "·" marks a figure not available in our data for that year.

Growth

GBP 25.6B
Revenue, FY2025 · full 11-year series below
Revenue £B Net income £B
FY2025 · Revenue 25.6 · Net income 7.8
15B30B-10B-20B
20152018202120242025
Compound annual growth
−2.5%
−0.1%
+6.9%
+5.2%
+3.9%
+6.1%
+6.1%
+4.6%
−34.2%
+2.0%
+2.6%
−33.7%
−2.8%
+6.0%
−1.8%
3 yrs
5 yrs
10 yrs
15 yrs

Revenue compounded at −0.1% a year over the five years to FY2025 — but profit grew faster: net income at +3.9%, earnings per share at +4.6%.

Compound annual rates per period — left blank where that exact year isn't on file, the series crosses a loss, or (per-share rows) a split falls inside the window.

Profitability

30 cents
of every revenue dollar became profit
Operating margin Net margin
FY2025 · Operating 39.0% · Net 30.3%
50%100%150%-20%-40%
201520202025
ROE
FY2025 · ROE 16.5%
50%100%-10%-20%
201520202025
Three returns, three denominators.

Each GBP of equity produced 17 cents of profit this year.

Cash & shareholders

GBP 6.4B
returned in FY2025 · dividends + net buybacks
Free cash flow £B
FY2025 · FCF 5.8
5B10B
201520202025
Net buybacks £B Dividends £B
FY2025 · Dividends 5.2 · Net buybacks 1.1
3B6B-10B-20BDividendsNet buybacks
201520172019202120232025

GBP 5.2B in dividends and GBP 1.1B in buybacks — 82% of the year's profit went back to shareholders.

Total assetsGBP 109.3B
EquityGBP 46.0B
CashGBP 3.8B
Gross debtGBP 35.1B
Net debtGBP 31.2B
Current ratio0.87×

Net debt stands at 68% of equity.

The 11-year record

11 fiscal years
Every figure from documents filed with the SEC · GBP
row low → row highnegative—not applicable◌not available in our data
BTI, 11-year financial record
Metric 20252024202320222021202020192018201720162015
Revenue £B25.625.927.327.725.725.825.924.519.614.113.1
Operating income £B10.02.7−15.810.510.210.09.09.36.44.74.6
EBITDA £B12.55.812.911.811.311.410.510.47.35.35.0
Income tax £B2.10.4−2.92.52.22.12.12.1−8.11.41.3
Net income £B7.83.1−14.46.76.86.45.76.037.54.64.3
Free cash flow £B5.89.610.39.99.29.38.39.54.64.04.2
EPS, diluted £3.491.36−6.472.922.962.792.492.6318.282.49230.30
Dividend / sh £2.452.402.362.312.182.162.102.03174.60155.90150.00
Payout %67170−357472746174126365
ROE %16.56.2−23.19.610.610.18.89.6108.770.385.3

Slide the table for earlier years. "—" not applicable · "◌" not available in our data.

More in this sector

Other companies filing in the same sector

Provenance

Company facts, as filed

How we verify · 0 failures in 39 reconciliationsAUDITED

Reconciled in 11 of the 11 fiscal years we could check. 18 checks were skipped: the balance sheet is not tagged before 2016. 11 checks were skipped: the share count is not tagged before 2018.

EPS recomputationBalance-sheet identityGross profitBalance-sheet liquidityCurrency consistency0 failures
ActivityCigarettes
Listed onNYSE
Incorporated innot stated in the filings
Fiscal year endsnot stated in the filings
Data on record since2015

Share this section

Download image