Skip to content
NYSE · DEEP SEA FOREIGN TRANSPORTATION OF FREIGHT · MID CAP

Diana Shipping Inc. DSX

18 fiscal years on record · USD · FY2025 reported · SEC filings only
$213.5M
▼ 6.4% YoY
$17.8M
▲ 39.9% YoY

Slide the table for earlier years · "·" marks a figure not available in our data for that year.

In brief

What this company does

As of December 31, 2025, the company operated a fleet of 36 owned and chartered-in dry bulk carriers, comprising nine Ultramax, five Panamax, six Kamsarmax, four Post-Panamax, eight Capesize and four Newcastlemax vessels, with a combined carrying capacity of approximately 4.1 million dwt and a weighted average age of 12.1 years. During 2025, two of the company's charterers accounted for 29% of its revenues in aggregate. The commercial and technical management of the company's fleet, along with administrative services related to its operations, is carried out by its wholly-owned subsidiary Diana Shipping Services S.A., referred to as DSS, and by Diana Wilhelmsen Management Limited, a 50/50 joint venture with Wilhelmsen Ship Management, referred to as DWM.

Written from the business description in DIANA SHIPPING INC.'s annual report to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, filed 13 March 2026. Every sentence was checked against that document before publication.

Growth

USD 213.5M
Revenue, FY2025 · full 18-year series below
Revenue $M Net income $M
FY2025 · Revenue 213.5 · Net income 17.8
150M300M-200M-400M
2008201120142017202020232025
Compound annual growth
−9.7%
+4.7%
+3.1%
−46.9%
−12.4%
−56.8%
−16.3%
−44.6%
−29.8%
+18.1%
3 yrs
5 yrs
10 yrs
15 yrs

Revenue compounded at +4.7% a year over the five years to FY2025.

Compound annual rates per period — left blank where that exact year isn't on file, the series crosses a loss, or (per-share rows) a split falls inside the window.

Profitability

8 cents
of every revenue dollar became profit
Operating margin Net margin
FY2025 · Operating 19.8% · Net 8.3%
20%40%-100%-200%-300%
200820162025
ROE
FY2025 · ROE 3.5%
10%20%-20%-40%-60%
200820162025
Three returns, three denominators.

Each USD of equity produced 4 cents of profit this year.

Cash & shareholders

USD 27.6M
returned in FY2025 · dividends + net buybacks
Free cash flow $M
FY2023 · FCF 40.6
100M200M-50M-100M
200820162025
Net buybacks $M Dividends $M
FY2025 · Dividends 4.6 · Net buybacks 23.0
30M60M-40M-80MDividendsNet buybacks
200920112013201520172019202120232025

USD 4.6M in dividends and USD 23.0M in buybacks — 155% of the year's profit, so the payout drew on cash built up earlier.

Total assetsUSD 1.2B
EquityUSD 502.4M
CashUSD 50.5M
Gross debtUSD 522.8M
Net debtUSD 472.3M
Current ratio2.73×

Net debt stands at 94% of equity.

The 18-year record

18 fiscal years
Every figure from documents filed with the SEC · USD
row low → row highnegative—not applicable◌not available in our data
DSX, 18-year financial record
Metric 202520242023202220212020201920182017201620152014201320122011201020092008
Revenue $B0.20.20.30.30.20.20.20.20.20.10.20.20.20.20.3◌◌◌
Operating income $B0.00.10.10.10.1−0.10.00.0−0.5−0.1−0.0−0.0−0.00.10.10.10.10.2
EBITDA $B0.10.10.10.20.1−0.10.10.1−0.4−0.00.00.10.10.10.20.20.20.3
Income tax $B◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌
Net income $B0.00.00.00.10.1−0.1−0.00.0−0.5−0.2−0.1−0.0−0.00.10.10.10.10.2
Free cash flow $B◌◌0.0−0.10.10.00.00.1−0.1−0.1−0.1−0.1−0.1−0.10.1−0.10.20.3
EPS, diluted $0.110.050.421.360.61−1.62−0.170.10−5.41−2.11−0.89−0.19−0.260.671.331.591.552.97
Dividend / sh $0.040.230.600.23◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌
Payout %26228836715—————————————
ROE %3.52.610.227.014.0−26.9−1.82.6−60.9−14.4−5.2−0.8−1.74.49.212.113.728.6
Shares out B0.120.130.110.100.080.090.090.100.110.080.080.080.080.080.080.080.08◌

Slide the table for earlier years. "—" not applicable · "◌" not available in our data.

More in this sector

Other companies filing in the same sector

Provenance

Company facts, as filed

How we verify · 0 failures in 70 reconciliationsAUDITED

Reconciled in 18 of the 18 fiscal years we could check. Four checks were skipped: the balance sheet is not tagged before 2009. Four checks were skipped: revenue is not tagged before 2011. One check was skipped: EPS is not tagged before 2008.

EPS recomputationBalance-sheet identityGross profitBalance-sheet liquidityCurrency consistency0 failures
ActivityDeep Sea Foreign Transportation of Freight
Listed onNYSE
Incorporated innot stated in the filings
Fiscal year endsnot stated in the filings
Data on record since2008

Share this section

Download image