Skip to content
MARKETS / NASDAQ / ICLR
NASDAQ · SERVICES-COMMERCIAL PHYSICAL & BIOLOGICAL RESEARCH · LARGE CAP

Icon PLC ICLR

18 fiscal years on record · USD · FY2025 reported · SEC filings only
$8.3B
▲ 0.8% YoY
$229.3M
▼ 69.0% YoY
$862.0M
▼ 22.9% YoY
In brief

What this company does

ICON plc provides outsourced development and commercialization services to pharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical device, and government and public health organizations. It earns revenue by providing services that include clinical trial management, consulting, contract staffing, data solutions, and laboratory services. At December 31, 2025, it employed approximately 40,100 employees in 97 locations in 55 countries. During the year ended December 31, 2025, it derived 30.6%, 57.9%, and 11.5% of its revenue in the United States, Europe, and Rest of World, respectively. During the year ended December 31, 2025, 24.8% of its revenues were derived from its top five customers, with no one customer individually contributing more than 10% of its revenues during the period. It has operated since its foundation in 1990.

Written from the business description in ICON PLC's annual report to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, filed 27 May 2026. Every sentence was checked against that document before publication.

Growth
USD 8.3B
Revenue, FY2025 · full 18-year series below
Revenue $B Net income $B
FY2025 · Revenue 8.3 · Net income 0.2
4B8B2008201120142017202020232025
Compound annual growth
+2.1%
+24.2%
+18.0%
+15.9%
−23.2%
−7.2%
−0.4%
+6.7%
−22.1%
+126.0%
+35.5%
+5.4%
3 yrs
5 yrs
10 yrs
15 yrs

Revenue compounded at +24.2% a year over five years.

Compound annual rates per period — left blank where that exact year isn't on file, the series crosses a loss, or (per-share rows) a split falls inside the window.

Profitability
3 cents
of every revenue dollar became profit
Operating margin Net margin
FY2025 · Operating 5.4% · Net 2.8%
5%10%15%2008201120142017202020232025
ROE
FY2025 · ROE 2.5%
10%20%30%2008201120142017202020232025

Each USD of equity produced 2 cents of profit this year.

Cash & shareholders
USD 740.3M
returned in FY2025 · dividends + net buybacks
Free cash flow $B
FY2025 · FCF 0.9
0.4B0.8B2008201120142017202020232025
Net buybacks $M Dividends $M
FY2025 · Dividends — · Net buybacks 740.3
250.0M500.0M-40.0M-80.0M20112014201620182020202220242025

USD 740.3M in buybacks — 323% of the year's profit, so the payout drew on cash built up earlier.

Total assetsUSD 16.3B
EquityUSD 9.2B
CashUSD 647.3M
Gross debtUSD 2.9B
Net debtUSD 2.2B
Current ratio1.10×

Net debt stands at 24% of equity.

The 18-year record
18 fiscal years
Every figure from documents filed with the SEC · USD

EPS, diluted, dividend per share and shares outstanding are shown without shading, and a vertical line marks the year the share count changed — the series crosses a large, unexplained change in share count, so the years on either side are not on a comparable scale.

row low → row highnegative
Metric 202520242023202220212020201920182017201620152014201320122011201020092008
Revenue $B8.38.28.17.75.52.82.82.61.81.71.61.51.31.10.90.90.90.9
Operating income $B0.41.00.90.80.40.40.40.40.30.30.30.20.10.10.00.10.10.1
EBITDA $B0.81.51.51.40.70.50.50.40.40.40.30.20.20.10.10.1··
Income tax $B0.00.10.00.10.00.00.10.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.00.0
Net income $B0.20.70.60.50.20.30.40.30.30.30.20.20.10.10.00.10.10.1
Free cash flow $B0.91.11.00.40.70.50.40.20.30.20.20.10.20.1−0.00.10.20.0
EPS, diluted $2.908.906.706.132.256.156.795.895.134.653.972.731.650.920.371.441.571.30
Dividend / sh $··················
Payout %··················
ROE %2.57.96.26.13.119.225.225.426.430.728.018.512.37.73.414.018.317.1
Shares out B0.080.080.080.080.080.050.050.050.050.050.050.060.060.060.060.060.06·

Slide the table for earlier years · "·" marks a figure not available in our data for that year.

Compare

This company against its peers

Provenance
Company facts, as filed
How we verify · 0 failures in 70 reconciliationsAUDITED

Reconciled in 18 of 19 fiscal years. 7 checks could not be computed.

EPS recomputationBalance-sheet identityGross profitBalance-sheet liquiditymoeda_consistente0 failures
ActivityServices-Commercial Physical & Biological Research
Listed onNASDAQ
Incorporated innot stated in the filings
Fiscal year endsnot stated in the filings
Data on record since2008

Share this section

Download image