Skip to content
NYSE · DRILLING OIL & GAS WELLS

Baytex Energy Corp. BTE

7 fiscal years on record · CAD · FY2025 reported · SEC filings only
CAD 1.5B
▼ 8.2% YoY
CAD -603.8M
▼ 355.2% YoY

Slide the table for earlier years · "·" marks a figure not available in our data for that year.

In brief

What this company does

Baytex Energy Corp. is engaged in the acquisition, development and production of crude oil and natural gas in the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin. Approximately 85% of its production is weighted toward crude oil and NGLs. As at December 31, 2025, Baytex had 227 employees, comprised of 171 in its head office and 56 in its field operations. The Corporation and its predecessors have been in business for more than 30 years.

Written from the business description in BAYTEX ENERGY CORP.'s annual report to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, filed 5 March 2026. Every sentence was checked against that document before publication.

Growth

CAD 1.5B
Revenue, FY2025 · full 7-year series below
Revenue CAD B Net income CAD B
FY2025 · Revenue 1.5 · Net income -0.6
1B2B-1B-2B
201920222025
Compound annual growth
−14.0%
+12.8%
−14.7%
3 yrs
5 yrs
10 yrs
15 yrs

Revenue compounded at +12.8% a year over the five years to FY2025.

Compound annual rates per period — left blank where that exact year isn't on file, the series crosses a loss, or (per-share rows) a split falls inside the window.

Profitability

−41 cents
lost on every revenue dollar
Operating margin Net margin
FY2025 · Net -40.8%
50%100%-100%-200%-300%
201920222025
ROE
FY2025 · ROE -18.4%
50%100%-50%-100%
201920222025
Three returns, three denominators.
Return on capital employedNot available: we don't have a clean operating profit figure for this period.

Each CAD of equity lost 18 cents this year.

Cash & shareholders

CAD 98.6M
returned in FY2025 · dividends + net buybacks
Net buybacks CAD M Dividends CAD M
FY2025 · Dividends 69.2 · Net buybacks 29.4
150M300MDividendsNet buybacks
20212022202320242025

CAD 69.2M in dividends and CAD 29.4M in buybacks went back to shareholders in a year without profit.

Total assetsCAD 3.3B
CashCAD 953.1M
Current ratio3.61×

Not available: we don't have the total debt figure for this period.

The 7-year record

7 fiscal years
Every figure from documents filed with the SEC · CAD
row low → row highnegative—not applicable◌not available in our data
BTE, 7-year financial record
Metric 2025202420232022202120202019
Revenue CAD B1.51.62.72.31.50.81.5
Operating income CAD B◌◌◌◌◌◌◌
EBITDA CAD B◌◌◌◌◌◌◌
Income tax CAD B0.10.1−0.30.00.1−0.2−0.1
Net income CAD B−0.60.2−0.20.91.6−2.4−0.0
EPS, diluted CAD −0.780.29−0.331.522.82−4.35−0.02
Dividend / sh CAD ◌◌◌◌◌◌◌
Payout %−1130−160———
ROE %−18.45.9−6.832.6115.7−138.4−0.4

Slide the table for earlier years. "—" not applicable · "◌" not available in our data.

Compare

This company against its peers

More in this sector

Other companies filing in the same sector

Provenance

Company facts, as filed

How we verify · 0 failures in 28 reconciliationsAUDITED

Reconciled in 7 of the 7 fiscal years we could check. 24 checks were skipped: the balance sheet is not tagged before 2019. 12 checks were skipped: EPS is not tagged before 2019.

EPS recomputationBalance-sheet identityGross profitBalance-sheet liquidityCurrency consistency0 failures
ActivityDrilling Oil & Gas Wells
Listed onNYSE
Incorporated innot stated in the filings
Fiscal year endsnot stated in the filings
Data on record since2019

Share this section

Download image