Skip to content
NASDAQ · MISCELLANEOUS ELECTRICAL MACHINERY, EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES

CAE Inc. CAE

9 fiscal years on record · CAD · FY2024 reported · SEC filings only
CAD 4.7B
▲ 9.9% YoY
CAD 405.3M
CAD 540.3M
▲ 127.9% YoY

Slide the table for earlier years · "·" marks a figure not available in our data for that year.

In brief

What this company does

CAE provides products and services to equip people in critical roles with technical expertise and solutions, digitalizing the physical world by deploying simulation training and critical operations support solutions. CAE's manufacturing and assembly facilities are located in Montreal, Canada, and in Arlington and Tampa in the United States. Its head office is located in Montreal, Canada, and CAE has sites and training locations in over 40 countries, including type rating training organizations offering pilot, maintenance and cabin crew training to business and commercial aircraft operators. CAE's operations are global, with approximately 90% of its revenue generated from worldwide exports and international activities, and approximately 50% of its revenue generated in the United States, with the balance in Europe and the rest of the world. CAE employs approximately 11,500 employees, of whom 1,779 were represented by unions and covered by 46 collective agreements as of March 31, 2026. CAE's operations are managed through two segments, Civil Aviation and Defense and Security. The Civil Aviation segment provides training solutions for flight, cabin, maintenance, ground personnel and air traffic controllers in commercial, business and helicopter aviation, a complete range of flight simulation training devices, ab initio pilot training and crew sourcing services, and airline operations digital solutions to major commercial airlines, regional airlines, business aircraft operators, civil helicopter operators, aircraft manufacturers, third-party training centres, flight training organizations, air navigation service providers, maintenance, repair and overhaul organizations, and aircraft finance leasing companies. The Defense and Security segment delivers scalable, platform-independent solutions that enable and enhance force readiness and security for defence forces, OEMs, government agencies and public safety organizations worldwide.

Written from the business description in CAE INC.'s annual report to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, filed 22 June 2026. Every sentence was checked against that document before publication.

Growth

CAD 4.7B
Revenue, FY2024 · full 9-year series below
Revenue CAD B Net income CAD B
FY2024 · Revenue 4.7 · Net income 0.4
2B4B
2016201920222024
Compound annual growth
+11.8%
+5.4%
+42.0%
+5.4%
+41.3%
+1.8%
3 yrs
5 yrs
10 yrs
15 yrs

Revenue compounded at +5.4% a year over the five years to FY2024 — but profit grew faster: net income at +5.4%, earnings per share at +1.8%.

Compound annual rates per period — left blank where that exact year isn't on file, the series crosses a loss, or (per-share rows) a split falls inside the window.

Profitability

9 cents
of every revenue dollar became profit
Operating margin Net margin
FY2024 · Operating 15.5% · Net 8.8%
5%10%15%-2%-4%-6%
201620202024
ROE
FY2024 · ROE 8.9%
5%10%15%-2%-4%-6%
201620202024
Three returns, three denominators.

Each CAD of equity produced 9 cents of profit this year.

Cash & shareholders

CAD 21.3M
returned in FY2024 · dividends + net buybacks
Free cash flow CAD M
FY2024 · FCF 540.3
200M400M
201620202024
Net buybacks CAD M Dividends CAD M
FY2024 · Dividends · · Net buybacks 21.3
100M200MDividendsNet buybacks
2016201720182019202020232024

CAD 21.3M in buybacks — 5% of the year's profit went back to shareholders.

Total assetsCAD 11.2B
EquityCAD 4.9B
CashCAD 293.7M
Current ratio0.80×

Equity funds 44% of total assets.

The 9-year record

9 fiscal years
Every figure from documents filed with the SEC · CAD
row low → row highnegative—not applicable◌not available in our data
CAE, 9-year financial record
Metric 202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue CAD B4.74.34.03.43.03.63.32.82.7
Operating income CAD B0.7−0.20.50.30.00.50.50.50.4
EBITDA CAD B1.10.20.80.60.40.80.7◌◌
Income tax CAD B0.1−0.10.10.0−0.00.10.10.00.0
Net income CAD B0.4−0.30.20.1−0.00.30.30.30.3
Free cash flow CAD B0.50.20.10.10.30.30.30.20.2
EPS, diluted CAD 1.27−1.020.690.45−0.171.161.231.280.93
Dividend / sh CAD ◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌
Payout %————−036302632
ROE %8.9−7.05.24.0−1.712.914.516.612.9

Slide the table for earlier years. "—" not applicable · "◌" not available in our data.

More in this sector

Other companies filing in the same sector

Provenance

Company facts, as filed

How we verify · 0 failures · 3 divergences in 40 reconciliationsAUDITED

Reconciled in 6 of the 9 fiscal years we could check. 3 of those reconciliations are divergences — the figures exist but don't fit the formula this check expects; that isn't the same as an error. 18 checks were skipped: the balance sheet is not tagged before 2016. Nine checks were skipped: EPS is not tagged before 2016. Nine checks were skipped: revenue is not tagged before 2016.

EPS recomputationBalance-sheet identityGross profitBalance-sheet liquidityCurrency consistency0 failures3 divergent
ActivityMiscellaneous Electrical Machinery, Equipment & Supplies
Listed onNASDAQ
Incorporated innot stated in the filings
Fiscal year endsnot stated in the filings
Data on record since2016

Share this section

Download image