Skip to content
SAVINGS INSTITUTION, FEDERALLY CHARTERED

Generations Bancorp NY, Inc. GBNY

5 fiscal years on record · USD · FY2023 reported · SEC filings only
$-1.6M
▼ 244.2% YoY
$1.7M
▼ 57.1% YoY

Slide the table for earlier years · "·" marks a figure not available in our data for that year.

In brief

What this company does

Generations Bank is a federal savings bank headquartered in Seneca Falls, New York. Our business consists primarily of taking deposits from the general public and, through our commercial bank subsidiary, Generations Commercial Bank, from New York State and County municipalities and agencies, and investing those deposits, together with borrowings and funds generated from operations, in the origination and purchase of one- to four-family residential real estate loans, including home equity loans and lines of credit. We also purchase and originate a substantial amount of consumer loans, including automobile loans, recreational vehicle loans and manufactured home loans. To a lesser extent, we originate commercial real estate and multi-family loans, commercial business loans, and residential and commercial construction loans. We also invest in securities, which currently consist primarily of corporate bonds and municipal bonds issued by states, local municipalities and schools in the Northeastern United States, and to a far lesser extent mortgage-backed securities issued by U.S. government sponsored entities, and Federal Home Loan Bank stock. We offer a variety of deposit accounts, including demand accounts, NOW accounts, money market accounts, savings accounts, and certificates of deposit accounts. In 2018, we formed Generations Commercial Bank, a New York State-chartered limited purpose commercial bank, as a subsidiary of Generations Bank.

Written from the business description in Generations Bancorp NY, Inc.'s annual report to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, filed 1 April 2024. Every sentence was checked against that document before publication.

Growth

·
Revenue, FY2023 · full 5-year series below
Compound annual growth
3 yrs
5 yrs
10 yrs
15 yrs

Compound annual rates per period — left blank where that exact year isn't on file, the series crosses a loss, or (per-share rows) a split falls inside the window.

Profitability

·
ROE
FY2023 · ROE -4.2%
2%4%6%-2%-4%
201920212023
Three returns, three denominators.
Return on capital employedNot available: we don't have total assets or current liabilities for this period.

Each USD of equity lost 4 cents this year.

Cash & shareholders

USD 1.1M
returned in FY2023 · dividends + net buybacks
Free cash flow $M
FY2023 · FCF 1.7
2M3M
201920212023
Net buybacks $M Dividends $M
FY2023 · Dividends · · Net buybacks 1.1
1M2M
2019202020222023

USD 1.1M in buybacks went back to shareholders in a year without profit.

Total assetsUSD 424.5M
EquityUSD 37.7M
CashUSD 14.5M
DepositsUSD 357.6M

Equity funds 9% of total assets.

The 5-year record

5 fiscal years
Every figure from documents filed with the SEC · USD
row low → row highnegative—not applicable◌not available in our data
GBNY, 5-year financial record
Metric 20232022202120202019
Revenue $B◌◌◌◌◌
Operating income $B−0.00.00.00.0◌
EBITDA $B−0.00.00.00.0◌
Income tax $B−0.00.00.0−0.0−0.0
Net income $B−0.00.00.00.00.0
Free cash flow $B0.00.00.00.00.0
EPS, diluted $−0.720.470.600.71◌
Dividend / sh $◌◌◌◌◌
Payout % — not applicable: no dividend—————
ROE %−4.22.73.96.00.3
Shares out B0.000.000.000.000.00

Slide the table for earlier years. "—" not applicable · "◌" not available in our data.

More in this sector

Other companies filing in the same sector

Provenance

Company facts, as filed

How we verify · 0 failures in 15 reconciliationsAUDITED

Reconciled in 5 of the 5 fiscal years we could check. 12 checks were skipped: the balance sheet is not tagged before 2019. 12 checks were skipped: EPS is not tagged before 2019.

EPS recomputationBalance-sheet identityGross profitBalance-sheet liquidityCurrency consistency0 failures
ActivitySavings Institution, Federally Chartered
Listed onnot stated in the filings
Incorporated innot stated in the filings
Fiscal year endsDecember 31
SEC categoryemerging growth company
Data on record since2019

Share this section

Download image