Skip to content
NYSE · NATIONAL COMMERCIAL BANKS · LARGE CAP

Mizuho Financial Group Inc. MFG

19 fiscal years on record · JPY · FY2025 reported · SEC filings only
5 YEARS OF DIVIDEND GROWTH
JPY 8.8T
▲ 7.6% YoY
JPY 1.2T
▲ 95.2% YoY
JPY -2.1T

Slide the table for earlier years · "·" marks a figure not available in our data for that year.

In brief

What this company does

Mizuho Financial Group engages in banking, trust banking, securities and other businesses related to financial services. It operates its group through five in-house companies, which determine and promote strategies across banking, trust banking, securities and other business areas according to customer segments, and two units that support all of them: the Retail & Business Banking Company, the Corporate & Investment Banking Company, the Global Corporate & Investment Banking Company, the Global Markets Company, the Asset Management Company, the Global Transaction Banking Unit and the Research & Consulting Unit. The Retail & Business Banking Company is responsible for individual customers, SMEs and middle-market corporations, and engages in consulting services that integrate banking, trust banking, securities and other functions within the Mizuho group. The Corporate & Investment Banking Company is responsible for large companies, financial institutions and public-sector entities in Japan, and provides solutions designed for each client through investment banking product functions such as M&A and businesses related to real estate. The Global Corporate & Investment Banking Company is responsible for Japanese companies operating outside Japan and for non-Japanese companies, and provides corporate finance and transaction banking services such as lending and corporate bond underwriting. The Global Markets Company runs the market-related businesses, offering sales and trading services to customers from individuals to institutional investors, and conducts ALM and investment business, including capital raising, balance sheet management and the management of fixed income, equity and other securities portfolios. The Asset Management Company is responsible for businesses related to asset management and provides products and services to customers from individuals to institutional investors, through the collaboration between the group's banking, trust banking and securities functions and Asset Management One Co., Ltd.

Written from the business description in MIZUHO FINANCIAL GROUP INC's annual report to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, filed 26 June 2026. Every sentence was checked against that document before publication.

Growth

JPY 8.79T
Revenue, FY2025 · full 19-year series below
Revenue JPY T Net income JPY T
FY2025 · Revenue 8.8 · Net income 1.2
4.0T8.0T-0.5T-1.0T
2007201020132016201920222025
Compound annual growth
+27.2%
+20.2%
+10.0%
+8.8%
+14.8%
+3.1%
+7.1%
+15.2%
+19.5%
+14.1%
+54.0%
+32.1%
+14.7%
+12.4%
3 yrs
5 yrs
10 yrs
15 yrs

Revenue compounded at +20.2% a year over the five years to FY2025 — but profit grew slower: net income at +14.8%, earnings per share at +15.2%.

Compound annual rates per period — left blank where that exact year isn't on file, the series crosses a loss, or (per-share rows) a split falls inside the window.

Profitability

15 cents
of every revenue dollar became profit
Operating margin Net margin
FY2025 · Operating 19.2% · Net 15.1%
10%20%30%-10%-20%-30%
200720162025
ROE
FY2025 · ROE 11.1%
20%40%-50%-100%
200720162025
Three returns, three denominators.
Return on capital employedNot available: we don't have total assets or current liabilities for this period.

Each JPY of equity produced 11 cents of profit this year.

Cash & shareholders

JPY 773.0B
returned in FY2025 · dividends + net buybacks
Free cash flow JPY T
FY2025 · FCF -2.1
2T4T-2T-3T
200720162025
Net buybacks JPY B Dividends JPY B
FY2025 · Dividends 368.7 · Net buybacks 404.3
300B600B-300B-600BDividendsNet buybacks
2007201020132016201920222025

JPY 368.7B in dividends and JPY 404.3B in buybacks — 67% of the year's profit went back to shareholders.

Total assetsJPY 294.90T
EquityJPY 10.86T
CashJPY 62.61T
Gross debtJPY 23.76T
Net debtJPY -38.84T

The company holds more cash than debt.

The 19-year record

19 fiscal years
Every figure from documents filed with the SEC · JPY

EPS, diluted, dividend per share and shares outstanding are shown without shading, and a vertical line marks the year the share count changed — the series crosses a large, unexplained change in share count, so the years on either side are not on a comparable scale.

row low → row highnegative—not applicable◌not available in our data
MFG, 19-year financial record
Metric 2025202420232022202120202019201820172016201520142013201220112010200920082007
Revenue JPY B8794.58169.98510.74276.92113.73497.93458.93429.83366.52877.13384.13258.92505.62862.82527.22496.72963.12836.4◌
Operating income JPY B1685.6759.31623.169.2−242.51028.8153.5◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌
EBITDA JPY B1964.0997.91845.8308.2−14.11260.4397.2◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌
Income tax JPY B359.6199.5425.135.1−141.0210.747.29.3237.691.2346.5437.4226.14.013.9193.2−360.2761.9672.2
Net income JPY B1158.0593.4912.5−14.0−104.7581.8150.284.5577.6362.4850.5803.0498.5875.4656.4412.7999.7−1058.4228.6
Free cash flow JPY B−2088.4−279.0−3717.0821.35361.8257.3−4284.1503.3−453.3778.2−146.9786.05494.3−1459.3−1963.9737.4−1269.53276.4−3793.4
EPS, diluted JPY 466.09234.52359.65−5.52−41.28229.2659.1933.3022.7614.2833.5031.6419.6434.4726.7819.2261.64−95.9616.77
Dividend / sh JPY 145.00140.00105.0085.0080.0075.0075.0075.007.507.50◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌
Payout %325126−1495−18833127225335223223117333213−1344
ROE %11.15.99.7−0.2−1.26.61.71.06.74.510.711.28.217.216.112.452.4−125.1◌

Slide the table for earlier years. "—" not applicable · "◌" not available in our data.

Compare

This company against its peers

More in this sector

Other companies filing in the same sector

Provenance

Company facts, as filed

How we verify · 0 failures in 55 reconciliationsAUDITED

Reconciled in 19 of the 19 fiscal years we could check. One check was skipped: the share count is not tagged before 2008. One check was skipped: the balance sheet is not tagged before 2008.

EPS recomputationBalance-sheet identityGross profitBalance-sheet liquidityCurrency consistency0 failures
ActivityNational Commercial Banks
Listed onNYSE
Incorporated innot stated in the filings
Fiscal year endsnot stated in the filings
Data on record since2007

Share this section

Download image