Skip to content
NYSE · NATIONAL COMMERCIAL BANKS · LARGE CAP

Shinhan Financial Group Co. Ltd. SHG

10 fiscal years on record · KRW · FY2024 reported · SEC filings only
KRW 74.1T
▲ 20.8% YoY
KRW 4.5T
▲ 1.9% YoY
KRW 4.4T
▲ 1525.3% YoY

Slide the table for earlier years · "·" marks a figure not available in our data for that year.

In brief

What this company does

Shinhan Financial Group conducts lending, credit card, insurance, securities investment, trading and leasing businesses, alongside deposit-taking and borrowing activities. As of December 31, 2025, its total gross loan portfolio was W469,768 billion. It has a number of overseas branches and subsidiaries, but a substantial majority of its assets are located, and a substantial majority of its revenues are generated, in Korea. Retail banking services are provided primarily through Shinhan Bank and, to a significantly lesser extent, through Jeju Bank, a regional bank, and retail loans amounted to W173,570 billion as of December 31, 2025. Corporate banking services are also provided primarily through Shinhan Bank, to small- and medium-sized enterprises, including SOHOs, and, to a lesser extent, to large corporations; the group also lends to government-controlled enterprises. Credit card services are provided principally through the credit card subsidiary Shinhan Card and, to a limited extent, Jeju Bank. Through Shinhan Securities, the group provides financial investment services to a customer base that includes corporations, institutional investors, governments and individuals. Life insurance products and services are provided primarily through Shinhan Life Insurance, whose distribution channels include financial planners, telemarketers, agency marketers and bancassurance specialists.

Written from the business description in SHINHAN FINANCIAL GROUP CO LTD's annual report to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, filed 22 April 2026. Every sentence was checked against that document before publication.

Growth

KRW 74.06T
Revenue, FY2024 · full 10-year series below
Revenue KRW T Net income KRW T
FY2024 · Revenue 74.1 · Net income 4.5
30T60T
2015201820212024
Compound annual growth
+3.5%
+5.5%
+4.9%
+17.3%
+18.8%
3 yrs
5 yrs
10 yrs
15 yrs

Compound annual rates per period — left blank where that exact year isn't on file, the series crosses a loss, or (per-share rows) a split falls inside the window.

Profitability

6 cents
of every revenue dollar became profit
Operating margin Net margin
FY2024 · Operating 8.7% · Net 6.2%
5%10%
201520192024
ROE
FY2024 · ROE 8.1%
5%
201520192024
Three returns, three denominators.
Return on capital employedNot available: we don't have total assets or current liabilities for this period.

Each KRW of equity produced 8 cents of profit this year.

Cash & shareholders

KRW 1.97T
returned in FY2024 · dividends + net buybacks
Free cash flow KRW T
FY2024 · FCF 4.4
2.5T5.0T-2.5T-5.0T
201520192024
Net buybacks KRW T Dividends KRW T
FY2024 · Dividends 1.3 · Net buybacks 0.7
1.0T2.0T-0.1T-0.3TDividendsNet buybacks
2015201620172018201920202021202220232024

KRW 1.27T in dividends and KRW 700.0B in buybacks — 44% of the year's profit went back to shareholders.

Total assetsKRW 739.76T
EquityKRW 56.05T
CashKRW 35.25T
Gross debtKRW 49.92T
Net debtKRW 14.67T

Net debt stands at 26% of equity.

The 10-year record

10 fiscal years
Every figure from documents filed with the SEC · KRW
row low → row highnegative—not applicable◌not available in our data
SHG, 10-year financial record
Metric 2024202320222021202020192018201720162015
Revenue KRW B74064.361332.658815.3◌◌◌◌◌◌◌
Operating income KRW B6458.76100.95905.65952.14929.75046.24499.43830.03108.62973.1
EBITDA KRW B◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌◌
Income tax KRW B1470.91487.01611.11471.01255.81269.11268.3848.4345.6694.6
Net income KRW B4450.24368.04665.64019.33414.63403.53156.72918.82774.82367.2
Free cash flow KRW B4362.5268.46861.93865.1−1315.76908.7−6463.1866.13545.12845.5
EPS, diluted KRW 8441.008048.008498.007308.00◌◌◌◌◌◌
Dividend / sh KRW ◌◌◌◌◌◌1600.001450.001450.00◌
Payout %28333330282423242423
ROE %8.18.49.58.78.29.19.29.18.9◌
Shares out B0.500.510.510.520.520.46◌◌◌◌

Slide the table for earlier years. "—" not applicable · "◌" not available in our data.

More in this sector

Other companies filing in the same sector

Provenance

Company facts, as filed

How we verify · 0 failures in 23 reconciliationsAUDITED

Reconciled in 10 of the 10 fiscal years we could check. 14 checks were skipped: EPS is not tagged before 2021. Nine checks were skipped: the balance sheet is not tagged before 2016.

EPS recomputationBalance-sheet identityGross profitBalance-sheet liquidityCurrency consistency0 failures
ActivityNational Commercial Banks
Listed onNYSE
Incorporated innot stated in the filings
Fiscal year endsnot stated in the filings
Data on record since2015

Share this section

Download image