Skip to content
MARKETS / SPTJF
PLASTIC MATERIALS, SYNTH RESINS & NONVULCAN ELASTOMERS · LARGE CAP

Sinopec Shanghai Petrochemical Co. Ltd. SPTJF

8 fiscal years on record · CNY · FY2022 reported · SEC filings only
CNY 82.4B
▼ 7.6% YoY
CNY -2.8B
▼ 237.3% YoY
CNY -10.3B
▼ 1518.3% YoY
In brief

What this company does

Sinopec Shanghai Petrochemical runs an integrated petrochemical complex that processes crude oil into products in four product areas: synthetic fibers, resins and plastics, intermediate petrochemicals, and petroleum products. In 2022 it processed a total of 10.4453 million tons of crude oil. A substantial portion of its revenues comes from customers in Eastern China, principally Shanghai and its six neighboring provinces. In 2022, 11.85% of its synthetic fiber products were purchased by provincial and municipal government trading companies acting as intermediaries with end-users. The key parts of the vertically integrated production facility are the ethylene facility, which produces ethylene and propylene, and the aromatics facility, which mainly produces paraxylene and benzene. Intermediate petrochemical products are processed into five kinds of synthetic fiber raw materials: polyester, acrylonitrile, polypropylene, polyethylene and PVA. Crude oil is purchased through Sinopec Corp. and its affiliates, at market prices, from sources the company selects and in quantities it confirms. Sinopec Corp., the controlling shareholder, and its concert parties hold approximately 50.55% of the outstanding shares.

Written from the business description in Sinopec Shanghai Petrochemical Company Limited's annual report to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, filed 26 April 2023. Every sentence was checked against that document before publication.

Growth
CNY 82.4B
Revenue, FY2022 · full 8-year series below
Revenue CNY B Net income CNY B
FY2022 · Revenue 82.4 · Net income -2.8
40B80B20152016201720182019202020212022
Compound annual growth
−6.3%
−2.2%
3 yrs
5 yrs
10 yrs
15 yrs

Revenue compounded at −2.2% a year over five years.

Compound annual rates per period — left blank where that exact year isn't on file, the series crosses a loss, or (per-share rows) a split falls inside the window.

Profitability
−3 cents
lost on every revenue dollar
Operating margin Net margin
FY2022 · Operating -4.7% · Net -3.4%
5%-2%-4%20152016201720182019202020212022
ROE
FY2022 · ROE -10.1%
10%20%-5%-10%20152016201720182019202020212022

Each CNY of equity lost 10 cents this year.

Cash & shareholders
CNY 25.7M
returned in FY2022 · dividends + net buybacks
Free cash flow CNY B
FY2022 · FCF -10.3
2B-4B-8B20152016201720182019202020212022
Net buybacks CNY M Dividends CNY M
FY2022 · Dividends — · Net buybacks 25.7
10M20M2022

CNY 25.7M in buybacks went back to shareholders in a year without profit.

Total assetsCNY 41.1B
EquityCNY 26.2B
CashCNY 889.4M
Gross debtCNY 2.2B
Net debtCNY 1.4B
Current ratio1.13×

Net debt stands at 5% of equity.

The 8-year record
8 fiscal years
Every figure from documents filed with the SEC · CNY
row low → row highnegative
Metric 20222021202020192018201720162015
Revenue CNY B82.489.274.6100.3107.792.077.880.7
Operating income CNY B−3.81.4−0.51.35.66.46.83.9
EBITDA CNY B−2.03.41.43.27.48.28.76.0
Income tax CNY B−0.70.6−0.10.41.51.71.80.9
Net income CNY B−2.82.10.62.25.36.16.03.3
Free cash flow CNY B−10.30.7−0.23.6····
EPS, diluted CNY −0.260.190.060.200.490.570.550.30
Dividend / sh CNY 0.100.100.12·····
Payout %········
ROE %−10.17.02.27.418.223.224.1·

Slide the table for earlier years · "·" marks a figure not available in our data for that year.

Compare

This company against its peers

Provenance
Company facts, as filed
How we verify · 0 failures · 8 divergences in 38 reconciliationsAUDITED

No fiscal year had a computed check that closed clean. 8 of those reconciliations are divergences — the figures exist but don't fit the formula this check expects; that isn't the same as an error. 57 checks could not be computed.

EPS recomputationBalance-sheet identityGross profitBalance-sheet liquiditymoeda_consistente0 failures8 divergent
ActivityPlastic Materials, Synth Resins & Nonvulcan Elastomers
Listed onnot stated in the filings
Incorporated innot stated in the filings
Fiscal year endsDecember 31
Data on record since2015

Share this section

Download image