Skip to content
MARKETS / NYSE / TAK
NYSE · PHARMACEUTICAL PREPARATIONS · LARGE CAP

Takeda Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd. TAK

9 fiscal years on record · JPY · FY2024 reported · SEC filings only
JPY 4.6T
▲ 7.5% YoY
JPY 107.9B
▼ 25.1% YoY
JPY 856.4B
▲ 58.3% YoY
In brief

What this company does

Takeda is a global R&D-driven biopharmaceutical company focused on discovering and delivering treatments in the therapeutic areas of gastrointestinal and inflammation, neuroscience and oncology, as well as through its plasma-derived therapies and vaccines business. Its prescription drugs are marketed worldwide, and it has approximately 47,000 employees. Commercial efforts are focused on six business areas — GI, Rare Diseases, PDT, Oncology, Vaccines and Neuroscience — which in the fiscal year ended March 31, 2026 accounted for 95.0% of total revenue. In GI, principal products include ENTYVIO, a treatment for moderate to severe ulcerative colitis and Crohn's disease. In Rare Diseases, they include TAKHZYRO, a fully human monoclonal antibody for the prevention of hereditary angioedema attacks. In Plasma-Derived Therapies, products include GAMMAGARD LIQUID/KIOVIG, a liquid formulation of the antibody replacement therapy immunoglobulin, for the treatment of patients with primary immunodeficiencies and of adult patients with multifocal motor neuropathy. In Oncology, offerings include ADCETRIS, an anti-cancer agent used to treat Hodgkin lymphoma and systemic anaplastic large cell lymphoma. In Neuroscience, principal products include VYVANSE/ELVANSE, a stimulant medication indicated for the treatment of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and of moderate to severe binge eating disorder in adults.

Written from the business description in TAKEDA PHARMACEUTICAL CO LTD's annual report to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, filed 17 June 2026. Every sentence was checked against that document before publication.

Growth
JPY 4.58T
Revenue, FY2024 · full 9-year series below
Revenue JPY T Net income JPY T
FY2024 · Revenue 4.6 · Net income 0.1
2T4T201620172018201920202021202220232024
Compound annual growth
+8.7%
+6.8%
−22.3%
+19.5%
−22.8%
+18.9%
−2.1%
+2.4%
3 yrs
5 yrs
10 yrs
15 yrs

Revenue compounded at +6.8% a year over five years — but profit grew faster: net income at +19.5%, earnings per share at +18.9%.

The share count rose from 1.58B to 1.59B over the period.

Compound annual rates per period — left blank where that exact year isn't on file, the series crosses a loss, or (per-share rows) a split falls inside the window.

Profitability
2 cents
of every revenue dollar became profit
Operating margin Net margin
FY2024 · Operating 7.5% · Net 2.4%
5%10%15%201620172018201920202021202220232024
ROE
FY2024 · ROE 1.5%
5%201620172018201920202021202220232024

Each JPY of equity produced 2 cents of profit this year.

Cash & shareholders
JPY 318.2B
returned in FY2024 · dividends + net buybacks
Free cash flow JPY B
FY2024 · FCF 856.4
400B800B201620172018201920202021202220232024
Net buybacks JPY T Dividends JPY T
FY2024 · Dividends 0.3 · Net buybacks 0.0
-2T201620172018201920202021202220232024

JPY 302.5B in dividends and JPY 15.7B in buybacks — 295% of the year's profit, so the payout drew on cash built up earlier.

Total assetsJPY 14.25T
EquityJPY 6.94T
CashJPY 385.1B
Gross debtJPY 4.52T
Net debtJPY 4.13T
Current ratio1.01×

Net debt stands at 60% of equity.

The 9-year record
9 fiscal years
Every figure from documents filed with the SEC · JPY

EPS, diluted, dividend per share and shares outstanding are shown without shading, and a vertical line marks the year the share count changed — the series crosses a large, unexplained change in share count, so the years on either side are not on a comparable scale.

row low → row highnegative
Metric 202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue JPY B4581.64263.84027.53569.03197.83291.22097.21770.51732.1
Operating income JPY B342.6214.1490.5460.8509.3100.4237.7241.8155.9
EBITDA JPY B1104.0942.11154.91044.01068.9684.1485.4423.9327.3
Income tax JPY B66.9−91.458.172.4−9.9−105.0−7.530.527.8
Net income JPY B107.9144.1317.0230.1376.044.2135.2186.9114.9
Free cash flow JPY B856.4540.9836.5999.9899.7542.7250.8310.8199.7
EPS, diluted JPY 67.2391.16201.94145.87238.9628.25139.82237.56146.26
Dividend / sh JPY ·········
Payout %280199881237563910676123
ROE %1.52.15.34.27.60.93.89.4·
Shares out B1.591.581.581.581.581.581.570.790.79

Slide the table for earlier years · "·" marks a figure not available in our data for that year.

Provenance
Company facts, as filed
How we verify · 0 failures in 34 reconciliationsAUDITED

Reconciled in 9 of 19 fiscal years. 52 checks could not be computed.

EPS recomputationBalance-sheet identityGross profitBalance-sheet liquiditymoeda_consistente0 failures
ActivityPharmaceutical Preparations
Listed onNYSE
Incorporated innot stated in the filings
Fiscal year endsnot stated in the filings
Data on record since2016

Share this section

Download image